Looking for off-the-shelf rooflights?

Visit our online rooflight shop, rooflights.com

Earlier this month Glazing Vision attended the 2015 Manchester Design Awards hosted by the Manchester Society of Architects, who are celebrating their 150th Year.

The event began with an opening evening lecture by Jacob Kurek from Henning Larsen Architects, principal of the company’s subsidiary in Saudi Arabia, Henning Larsen Middle East. Additional speakers were from Glazing Vision and Icopal.

The opening evening kicked off a week long exhibition at the Anthony Burgess Institute, featuring details of all the award entries leading up to the awards evening itself held in the Peoples History Museum.

The 2015 awards was extremely well attended with a fantastic buzz surrounding the event. The cream of Manchester’s architectural community were all present and there was also some exciting new talent in attendance, who have already begun to influence the way we all look at the built environment with fresh ideas and forward thinking.

Glazing Vision was very proud to include one of its flagship products, the hinged Skydoor rooflight at the event which enjoyed an enthusiastic response from many architects.

The actual awards themselves proved a huge talking point; designed by SixTwo Architects to reinforce Manchester Architects’ new brand identity, they were dubbed ‘Architectural Oscars’ for the deserving winners.

Jon Shooter, Glazing Visions Managing Director, presented the innovatively designed award for ‘One Off Housing’ to GA Studio Architects for their Passivhaus 1109 project.

In all there were 16 awards presented, including a Fellowship Award for Roger Stephenson OBE who has been intimately involved in the urban regeneration of Manchester and continues to be involved in major work in the city.

All of the winners are featured below:

Category 1 – Commercial Development (built) AHR – Blackpool Council Offices

Category 2 – Commercial Development (unbuilt) DLA Design – 90 Duke Street

Category 3 – Residential Scheme (built) OMI Architects – TY Anwen

Category 4 – Residential Scheme (unbuilt) Buttress – Chapel Street Regeneration

Category 5 – One Off Housing (built) GA Studio Architects – Passivhaus 1109

Category 6 – One Off Housing (unbuilt) Aboda Living Ltd – North Road

Category 7 – Community (built) BDP – UK Pavillion Milan Expo

Category 8 – Community (unbuilt) AFL – Learning & Development Centre

Category 9 – Small Project of the Year Hive Architects – Wood Room

Category 10 – Sustainability GA Studio Architects – Passivhaus 1109

Category 11 – Contractor of the Year DLA Design – Regional Automotive Technology Hub

Category 12 – Client Legacy of the Year OMI Architects – All Souls Bolton

Category 13 – Young Practice Award GA Studio Architects – Passivhaus 1109

Category 14 – Future Architect of the Year Finbar Charleson – Waste Water Works

Category 15 – Fellowship Award Roger Stephenson OBE

Category 16 – Building of the Year BDP – UK Pavillion Milan Expo

You can read more about the individual projects in further detail here.